So recently I haven’t posted many reviews, and there are a few reasons for this. One is that I have moved, and another is that I am currently in the process of trying to lose around 5 stone (70 pounds for those who don’t use stones as a weight measurement), meaning that I spend a lot of my spare time (of which there isn’t much) at the gym, and that my laptop is a bit dodgy at the moment, but the main one is that there just aren’t that many films that I’m interested in watching.

For those that haven’t read my site before, I don’t review mainstream films. Granted,there are the odd ones here and there that are mainstream that I have reviewed, such as “The Fly” and “The Thing”, but they were for a purpose during my run of reviewing a film every day in October 2015 leading up to Halloween (which I won’t be repeating this year)

After watching “Men and Chicken” and reviewing it a few nights ago, I was in the mood to watch another and review it, but I couldn’t find anything that I was particularly interested in. I’m struggling to be honest, but I don’t want that to impact the site on a long term and so I’m going to do what I did last year and that is reveal the five mainstream films that are coming out soon that I’m looking forward to, and more importantly, ones that I don’t think a lot of people, especially in my native England, will know about yet.

So based on that, here are the five films that are coming out within the near(ish) future that I am excited about. Please note that I won’t really be talking about them, just posting the trailers and the odd comment here and there.

Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk

I never thought I’d get excited by a movie that has Kristen Stewart in it, but thankfully her role looks to be a small one.

“Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk” looks like it follows Ang Lee’s trend of brilliant visuals and great story telling.

 

Hell or High Water

Chris Pine and Ben Foster, need I say more?

 

Imperium

Say what you want about Daniel Radcliffe, he is a very promising young actor and his choice of roles since the Harry Potter franchise has not only been varied, but also very flexible. He has played a man who grew horns on his head (Horns), the son of a former billionaire seeking revenge (Now You See Me 2) and a farting corpse (Swiss Army Man).

Now he appears in the very different “Imperium”, which looks to be the best movie about Neo-Nazism since “American History X”.

 

The Light Between Oceans

Much like “The Danish Girl”, this does look like a film that is desperately trying to be Oscar-bait, but it looks very good and morally complex.

 

Split

It’s safe to say that M. Night Shyamalan has had a mixed career so far. He started off exceptionally well with films such as Sixth Sense and Unbreakable, but his efforts more recently have not been that good, but I still have high hopes for this horror film.

From the trailers you are left under no illusions what the film is about, and you realise that with 23 personalities to work with, this is a true test of James McAvoy’s acting chops.

 

 

Comments
  1. […] 2nd 2016 – Coming soon and looking good – A brief look at films that I am excited […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

