Keeping it Reel : A preview to the end of 2016

hell-or-high-water-trailer-slide-750x375

When I started this site in September 2014 I never imagined that I would still be posting reviews on a semi-regular basis two years later, but one of the best things about doing this site is that it gives me a great motivation to watch more films at the cinema.

For those that haven’t read this site before, I tend to focus on reviewing films that aren’t well known. Now don’t get me wrong, I do occasionally write about more well known films, but not often. Despite this, at the end of each year I rank the films that I have seen at the cinema. In 2015 my favourite film was “No Escape”, which followed on from 2014’s “Nightcrawler”, whereas “Vacation” and “Pompeii” were comfortably bottom of the list in their respective years.

In 2015 I managed to reach what was a personal best of forty-six films seen at the cinema, but 2016 has seen me reach new heights, and I am currently on almost double that amount for this calendar year, and I am desperately trying to reach a hundred for the year. Whilst it would be great to achieve it, it does mean that I have had to watch a lot of films that I would never have dreamt of seeing previously (let’s put it this way, out of the last ten films that I have seen, only one has actually been any good, and only two that I would have actually paid to see (I work at a cinema so see most films for free).

Sometimes going to see films that I wouldn’t have otherwise seen works, but not to much others.

Now the reason that I am telling you all of this is because with that sheer amount, it would become purely farcical to rank a hundred films into just four lists (the same amount I had last year), especially when you consider that two of those lists will only consider two films. So this year I will instead be ranking them properly, right from a hundred (assuming I see 100), right up to number one.

sing-street-john-carney-pic

I have been keeping track of the films that I have since since the first day of the year, in which I saw five movies in one day, right through to a very disappointing venture last night, and I currently have a bottom and top ten in place, although let’s put it this way, there are some shocking films that won’t feature in the bottom ten that would have probably topped that list in other years. On the flip side, there have been a lot of quality films this year that I really want to put in my top ten, but I can’t justify removing any that are currently in that position.

So with that in mind, my list will start ten days before the new year, and will post my top ten on New Year’s Eve, or at least that is the plan.

Here is a preview of the upcoming breakdown, although I’m not going to discuss individual films…..

  • Two films on the list have Chris Pine and Ben Foster working together. One is currently in my top ten, and the other also features another actor that Pine has previously worked with.
  • Foster also holds the unusual distinction of being the only actor/actress to be in films that appear in both my top and bottom tens for the year so far.
  • Chris Pine, Ben Foster and Chris Hemsworth all feature in three different films on the list in total, more than anyone else. Interestingly, they did technically appear in a movie together, which would take the latter of the three to four, but as Hemsworth’s appearance in that film wasn’t fresh footage, I can’t include it as him acting. Hemsworth and Foster will both appear in the bottom ten for the year as it stands.
  • Other actors to be in numerous entries include Steve Carrell, Jesse Eisenberg, George Clooney, Zak Efron and Margot Robbie.
  • My first candidate for worst film of the year stayed in that position for around four months, and but was replaced by stars of “High School Musical” and “Parks and Recreation”, but it was a spin off of another TV show that currently sits bottom of the pile. It will take something unbelievably atrocious in the last few months for me to consider anything else.
  • When I rank the films, none of the major comic book based films that have come out this year (and I’ve seen all of them) are likely to feature in the top thirty, and only one is likely to be in the top fifty. Please note that this is only as it stands.
  • The top ten currently consists of a single horror film, but is joined by a film that has a horror element to it’s title.
  • My bottom ten currently includes two sequels, a live-action remake and a film based on a computer game.
  • There are two foreign language films overall in the list, one of which I have previously reviewed on this site.
  • Surprisingly there are only sixteen remakes, sequels or prequels in my list.
  • And finally, whilst no actors appears in two films on the bottom or top ten lists currently, Zak Efron and Jeremy Irons have both spent time on the bottom ten list with films with two different entries, and both still appear in one.

If you are interested in reading my previous breakdowns of the years 2014 and 2015, these can be accessed from the “All Reviews”. In the meantime, I will be trying to increase my reviews and posts, so stay tuned.

3061243-poster-1920-the-neon-demon

One thought on “Keeping it Reel : A preview to the end of 2016

Leave a Reply

